For more information on each of the CFIR leadership members, please click on their names.


Shelia Cotten, PhD
MSU Foundation Professor
Professor, Department of Media and Information, Michigan State University

Research Analyst/Outreach Specialist

Marie Bowen, MSEd 
Research Analyst/Outreach Specialist

Governing Board

Andrea Amalfitano, DO, PhD
Interim Dean, College of Osteopathic Medicine
Osteopathic Heritage Foundation Professor of Pediatrics, Michigan State University

Norman J. Beauchamp Jr, MD, MHS
Dean, College of Human Medicine, Michigan State University

Prabu David, PhD, CFIR Chair
Dean, College of Communication Arts & Sciences, Michigan State University

Christine Jodoin, MSN, RN, NE-BC
Senior Vice President of Nursing and Chief Nursing Officer, Sparrow Health System

Joseph J. Ruth
Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, Sparrow Health System

Randolph Rasch, PhD, RN, FNP, FAANP
Dean and Professor, College of Nursing, Michigan State University

Dennis A. Swan, FACHE
President/Chief Executive Officer, Sparrow Health System

June Youatt, PhD
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Michigan State University

Advisory Board

Judy Arnetz, PhD, MPH, PT
Professor and Associate Chair for Research in the Department of Family Medicine

Jon Baker, BS, MT, CIC
Administrative Director, Laboratories, Sparrow Health System

Tony Bailey, MBA, BSN, RN
Nurse, Sparrow Specialty Hospital, Sparrow Health System

Laura Bix, PhD
Associate Director and Professor, School of Packaging, Michigan State University

Leah Cohen, MSN, RN
Quality Assurance & Performance Improvement Specialist for Sparrow Hospice & Palliative Care Services, Sparrow Health System

B. Keith English, MD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics and Human Development, Michigan State University; Academic Chair for the Department of Pediatrics, Helen DeVos Children's Hospital

Gregory D. Fink, PhD
Neuroscience Program, Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Michigan State University

Barbara Given, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAPOS
University Distinguished Professor, Interim Associate Dean for Research, College of Nursing, Michigan State University

Ted Glynn, MD, FACEP
Vice President of Medical Education, Sparrow Health System

Anne K. Hughes, PhD, MSW
Associate Professor, School of Social Work, Michigan State University

Dan Phillips, PT, MSA
Administrative Director, Sparrow Cancer Center, Sparrow Health System

Patrick Salow, MPA
Director of Orthopedics and Neurosciences, Sparrow Health System

Kathleen Smith, BBA
Executive Director, IT Applications and PMO, Sparrow Health System

R. Mark Worden, PhD
Associate Chair, Biomedical Engineering Department; Professor, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science Department, Michigan State University